Penalty or Not: Mazic and Argentina v. Iran
Update: Here’s a great new video clip that should put this to bed (thanks to reader Cicero). It’s pretty clear here that Zabaleta touched the ball very cleanly and the ball was out of reach before he ever touched Dejagah. What it was an Iranian corner, which wasn’t given.
And to everyone who’s commenting on this, I am glad you’re here. I understand you’re passionate about the game, but please read the Ground Rules.
Early in the second half, Argentina’s Pablo Zabaleta appeared to bring down Iran’s Ashkan Dejagah in the box. The touch was light, and it probably was a 50-50 call. Zabaleta got the ball, which was gone before Dejagah tripped on the follow through.
Serbian referee Milorad Mazic decided not to call the foul.
Maybe, it was, and non-neutrals are up in arms. But let me tell you this, Dejagah was extremely lucky to stay on the pitch after his reaction, seen in the bottom video.
Calls go against you all the time. Losing your cool and physically engaging with the referee is unacceptable. Mazic is a notoriously physical ref, so he let it go, but he probably shouldn’t have.
Take a look at the replay and see what you think:
Featured photo: AFP