Why Wasn’t Thomas Muller Carded for Diving?
So, very few sane people argue Pepe’s red card in Germany v. Portugal.
But shouldn’t Muller have seen yellow for his play acting after Pepe’s initial smack to the upper body?
In short, no.
The big myth amongst football fans is that this kind of dramatic exaggeration – designed to call a referee’s attention to a transgression – is simulation, which is a yellow card offense.
But there is a major difference: Simulation only occurs if there’s no foul.
If contact occurs and there’s a foul – which in this case, it’s pretty clear Muller was hit, even if he made a meal of it – it’s not simulation.
A fall after a foul – no matter how dramatic or unnecessary – is not a yellow card offense.
Here’s the incident again:
What do you think? Dive or not?
Featured photo: express.co.uk